WJBD Radio


Now Playing

National Sports

WJBD - National Sports - 2013 Hockey Hall of Fame Class Announced

2013 Hockey Hall of Fame Class Announced

Len Redkoles/NHLI via Getty Images (TORONTO) -- Brendan Shanahan, Fred Shero, Geraldine Heaney, Chris Chelios and Scott Niedermayer have been selected to the Hockey Hall of Fame.

Both Chelios and Niedermayer were selected in their first year of eligibility.


Chelios, a defenseman who retired as the second-oldest player in NHL history at age 48, played 26 seasons in the NHL and won three Norris Trophies (league's top defenseman).

Niedermayer, also a defenseman,  played 17 seasons in the NHL and was part of four Stanley Cup winning teams. He was a five-time All-Star, won a Norris Trophy and was named the 2007 Conn Smythe Trophy winner, which is given to the most valuable player of the playoffs.

Shanahan played forward and won three Stanley Cups with the Detroit Red Wings. He finished his career with 656 goals and 698 assists.                                                                                                           

As head coach of the Philadelphia Flyers, Shero led the Flyers to to Stanley Cup titles in the 1970s.


Heaney, one of three women to ever be elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame,  played as a defenseman on Canada's gold-medal-winning team at the 2002 Olympics.

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio

See other NationalSports news:

Thunder move up...Raptors get No. 3 seed...Wizards lock up fifth seed
Penguins overcome slow start...Canadiens take opener in OT...Ducks hold on
Pitchers ahead of the hitters...Yanks post double shutouts
Judge delays settlement
Jets sign Johnson

Loyal Listener Club

Club Login

Follow Us At

This Site logo