WJBD Radio


Now Playing

Local News

WJBD - Local News - Longtime Salem Township Supervisor Loses Seat By Two Votes

Longtime Salem Township Supervisor Loses Seat By Two Votes

By Bruce Kropp, WJBD News

Longtime Salem Township Supervisor Gene Bailey has been upset in his bid for re-election.  According to the unofficial results, Bailey lost to Republican Richard Gregg by two votes, 544 to 542.  In the contested Salem Township Trustee election, the winners were Sharon Woodward, with 669 votes, Mike Malan with 596 votes, Doris Purcell with 561 votes, and Jim Bryant with 495 votes.   Those not winning seats were William Milam with 442 votes, Gary Purcell with 400 votes, Nicolas Farley with 347 votes and Kae Huddlestun with 366 votes.  

In the race for Centralia Township Trustee, Delores Wanzo was top vote getter with 624 votes.  Others winning seats were Patrick Stedelin with 531 Votes, Gary Sanders with 494 votes, and Judy Sutherland with 484 votes.  Not winning seats were Jerry Ray with 451 votes, Bob Hahn with 432, and William Nitz with 404 votes.

There were several contested highway commissioner races.  In Foster Township, Dwain Shuler beat Joe Jones 57 to 35. In Haines Township, Eugene Lisenbey beat Billy Hays 79 to 69.  In the Omega Road Commissioner race, Blake Peterson beat Steven Brown 92 to 87.    

In Iuka Township, there was a race for clerk.  Republican Patricia Timm beat Democrat Edie Henne 106 to 47.  

In other contested trustee races, Nick Meador was the top vote getter in the Iuka Township Trustee race with 99 votes.  Others winning seats were Zachary Williams with 95 votes, Richard Vincent with 91 votes, and Charles Arnold with 89 votes.  Erwina Blank lost by a single vote, with 88.  In Omega Township, the four winning trustees were Russell Beard with 109 votes, Curt Hanks with 104, Randy Rose with 102, and Gerald Cooper with 95.   Not winning a seat was Danielle Cooper, who finished with 85 votes.   In Raccoon Township the four winning trustee seats were Bill Leathers with 68 votes, Paul Rector and Donna Prosise with 59 votes apiece and William Bierman with 58.  Bill Mathena lost with just 46 votes.     

See other LocalNews news:

State Police Seize 154 Pounds of Cannabis in Jefferson County
No Progress Reported in Sunday Meeting of Legislative Leaders
Fantasy Sports Betting Regulations Dead This Legislative Session
Sponsor Still Hopes Automatic Voter Registration Will Pass This Session
Election-Year Politics Dim Hopes of Illinois Budget Deal

This Site logo