WJBD Radio


Now Playing

Local News

WJBD - Local News - Kiddie Parade Draws Hundreds of Costumed Children

Ben Sutton, the son of Mandy and Brad Sutton, wins the Tony Demijan Award for his eyeball costume.

Kiddie Parade Draws Hundreds of Costumed Children

By Garrett Ford, WJBD News

In the first of two parades, hundreds of costumed children marched through downtown Centralia on Saturday. Several of the children walked away as award winners after the annual kiddie parade. The Tony Demijan Award is presented each year in remembrance of the children parade's founder. Ben Sutton's eyeball-inspired costume won this year's award.

In the float division, third place went to 2-year-old Bryden Holtkamp's Thomas the Tank Engine. A float honoring NASA and Neil Armstrong was awarded second place. The Smith, Wehking, Wernsman and Froese families took first place for their Beatles-inspire Yellow Submarine float.

Other Winners from the 2012 Centralia Children's Parade:


1st – Tank Hunter Thompson

2nd – Ryder Koder

3rd – Jesse Cain


1st – Kailen Bellemey

2nd – Charity Gault

3rd – Hunter Amburg


1st – Damon Jennings

2nd – Noah Savin

3rd – Emma Spears


1st – Ashleigh Rust

2nd – Ben Suttori

3rd – Abram Miller

Fairy Tale/Mother Goose/Disney


1st – Adam Savin

2nd – Elina Kell

3rd – Gabriel Thomason


1st – Cole Mahle

2nd – Gabriella Rippel

3rd – Willow McGrath

Comic Strip Characters

1st – Caden Cole

2nd – Kyla Miller

3rd – Audra Davis

Musical Rock Stars

1st – Harleigh Cushman

2nd – Makenna Downes

3rd – Arianne Olivaries


1st - Mariah Stone

2nd – Lucia Thompson

3rd – Ashaunti Washington

TV/Video Characters

1st – Cattie Dolil

2nd – Jake Little

3rd – Louis Flores

Animal Characters (Pet/Zoo)

1st - Makenna Klein

2nd – Aubrie Finley

3rd – Raven Rille


1st – Ella Sanders

2nd – Remmi Alton

3rd – Jessica Schoonover


1st – Alyssa & Hunter Wiesman

2nd – Jackson McClaron, Faith Mooney, Mandshin Mooney

3rd – Tender Lovant


1st – Arin Killon

2nd – Ana Roberts

3rd – Crimsen Thompson


1st – Alissa Miller

2nd – Mallory Pollock

3rd – Jadyn McNelly

Decorated Wagons

1st –  Chance Merrell, Killian Merrell, and Lexi Smith

2nd – Adison Winkler

3rd – Corbin Treakle

Editor's Note:  Some names on the list of winners were difficult to read.  Please send spelling corrections to news@wjbdradio.com

See other LocalNews news:

Gov. Rauner signs bill reducing pot penalties in Illinois
Rauner vetoes plan aimed at preventing elderly care cutbacks
Salem Man Charged with Attempted First Degree Murder
Two People Are Killed in Early Thursday Morning Crash in Washington County
Kaskaskia College Conference

This Site logo