WJBD Radio


Now Playing

Local News

WJBD - Local News - Faculty Recognized at Kaskaskia College Awards Night

Faculty Recognized at Kaskaskia College Awards Night

By Bruce Kropp, WJBD News

A number of faculty members have been honored at Kaskaskia College's annual awards and retirement dinner.  The Outstanding Faculty Award was presented to Professor Sam Bundy.  The Full-time Staff Member of the Year was Director of Public Information Cathy Karrick.  She was also recognized for her role with the Kaskaskia College Sports Association.  The Part-Time Staff Member of the Year was Laura Findley.  The Outstanding Part Time Faculty Member was Salem Police Chief Ron Campo who is an adjunct professor in the Criminal Justice Program.  

The 2014 Kaskaskia College Faculty Horizon Award Winner is Mark Kohnen. who was recognized for the growth in the Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning program.   The Faculty Assessment Award was presented to the Kaskaskia College Nursing Faculty.  The Technology Excellence Awards were presented to Mike Stone, Bruce Fischer and Stacy Arning who were honored for implementing several new processes that have improvement communication with faculty, enhanced availability to students and alumni and streamline staff processing.  The first ever Club Sponsor of the Year was Sharon Elwood who heads the Radiology Club.  

Two students were also honored.  Outgoing Student Trustee Karlie Nattier was presented the Gigi Campbell Student Trustee Excellence Award.  The Paul Simon Student Essay winner was MacKenzie Branch.

Six retiring faculty members were also recognized.  They are Marva Bledsoe, Kathie Bryan, Susan Bryant, Marlene Cole, Sandra Cox and Karilyn Stuff.

See other LocalNews news:

South Central Receives One of 12 Federal Literacy Grants
Alleged Buchheit Burglar Indicted by Federal Grand Jury
Centralia HS Alumni Association Opens New Capital Funds Donation Initiative
Mark Decker Drops Out of Salem Mayoral Race, Three Candidates Remain
Centralia High School Approves Low Tax Levy

This Site logo