Adults Hosting Teen Drinking Parties Face Fines
The legislation makes it a Class A misdemeanor to host or allow gatherings where teenagers drink alcohol. Fines will be at least $500. It's a Class 4 felony if the underage drinking results in injury or death. The law goes into effect Tuesday.
Adults who discover minors drinking alcohol on their property won't be charged if they call the police to help put a stop to the party.
Illinois Liquor Control Commission authorities say most minors who drink get the alcohol from friends or family. Mundelein Police Chief Ray Rose and the Lake County Underage Drinking Prevention Task Force worked to get the law passed.
See other LocalNews news:Marion County Building Committee Okays Public Service Buildling Renovation
Amtrak to Keep Two Daily Round Trip Trains on Chicago to Carbondale Route
Hung Jury Declared in Trial of Former Illinois Prosecutor
Court Upholds TV Pitchman Kevin Trudeau's 10-year Sentence
Three Injured In Friday Morning Crash in Salem