176 Concealed Carry Apps Filed in Marion County
Local police can file objections to a concealed carry application for 30 days after the application is submitted. Police can object if they feel the applicant would be a danger to the local community if they were granted a concealed carry permit. No objections have been filed in any area counties, including Marion, Clinton, Fayette, Washington, Jefferson, Clay, or Wayne counties.
Jefferson County currently leads the region in applications with 232, Fayette County is reporting 106 applicants, Wayne County has 99 applications pending, Clinton County is reporting 98 applications, Clay County has 67 applications pending, and Washington County has the fewest carry applicants in the region at 55.
Statewide, Cook County has the highest number of applicants at 8,225. Cook County law enforcement agencies are objecting to 20 of those applications.
Those wanting to take advantage of Illinois' new concealed carry law must complete 16 hours of approved firearms training, a valid drivers license or State ID Card, a valid FOID card, a non-felon, and be 21 years of age or older.
See other LocalNews news:Illinois Panel OKs Marijuana for Pain, Other Conditions
Rauner Tries to Put Pressure on Democrats for Budget Deal
Republican State Senator Kyle McCarter To Challenge Congressman John Shimkus
Swansea Man Draws 20-Year Prison Term for His Role in Mt. Vernon Cab Driver Murder
Salem City Council Debates Walton Drive Improvements